Payday loans

July 6, 2009

Around the States

A new Kansas law effective January 1, 2010 will increase the state minimum wage from $6.55/hour to $7.25/hour.

Beginning in August 2009, Colorado employers, with 50 or more employees, must provide certain workers up to 18 hours of unpaid leave each school year to take part in their children’s academic activities.

Colorado has also raised the penalties for employers who misclassify employees as independent contractors.

According to an analysis by the law firm of Barker, Olmstead & Barnier found here California has a significantly larger rate of employment discrimination claims than is found around the country.  In some instances the number of claims is 2X to 3X higher than what might be expected given the state’s population.  See the analysis for more details….and good luck to all you California employers out there.

Effective July 1, 2009, Minnesota employers with 11 or more FT employees who don’t provide group health insurance will be required to provide a Section 125 flexible spending plan or “opt out” of the 125 requirement by filing w/ the commissioner of commerce.

Beginning August 15, 2009 certain Nevada employers must provide greater leave for parents, guardians and custodians to attend school related activities.

The Wisconsin Fair Employment Act has been amended to permit employees to seek compensatory and punitive damages.

Share

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.